Digg Lets Banned Domains Back In

SMS Text

It seems Digg has unbanned a list of sites by letting them back in. From what I have noticed here are the sites that have been allowed back in.
* [Online Marketing Blog](http://www.toprankblog.com/2006/12/the-hypocrisy-of-digg-and-spam/)
* [DigitalPoint Forums](http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?p=1887167)
* [John Chow](http://www.johnchow.com/banned-from-digg/)
* [Squidoo by Seth Godin](http://www.squidu.com/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=9365%20Squidoo)
* [Text Link Ads](http://www.text-link-ads.com/)
* [SEO News Blog](http://www.seonewsblog.com/banned-from-digg)
* [Ecademy](http://www.ecademy.com/node.php?id=77163&seen=1)
* [Connected Internet](http://www.connectedinternet.co.uk/2006/11/25/i-think-i-know-why-im-banned-from-digg/)
* [Real Estate Webmasters](http://www.realestatewebmasters.com/showthread.php?t=11725&page=1&pp=10)
* [Rock My Monkey](http://www.rockmymonkey.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3543)
* [Paul Stamatiou](http://paulstamatiou.com/)
* [Paula Mooney](http://paulamooney.blogspot.com/2006/12/i-was-banned-from-diggcom.html)
* [Alan Lewis](http://alanlewis.typepad.com/weblog/2006/03/how_to_get_bann.html)
* [v7n Forums](http://www.v7n.com/forums/marketing-forum/43825-url-banned-digg-com.html)
* [Luca Filigheddu](http://lucafiligheddu.blogspot.com/2006/07/my-bad-experience-with-digg.html)
* [Find in Forums](http://www.findinforums.com/)
* [Encyclopedia Dramatica](http://www.encyclopediadramatica.com/index.php/Main_Page)
* [Oliver Stone](http://www.redonka.com/?p=28)
* [Kineda](http://www.kineda.com/)
* [Dingorue](http://www.dingorue.com/)
* [The Superficial](http://www.thesuperficial.com/)
* [The Blemish](http://theblemish.com/)
* [Journal Space](http://www.journalspace.com)
* [Literally Everything](http://www.literallyeverythingblog.com)
* [Pro-SEO](http://pro-seo.blogspot.com/)
* [Roughly Drafted](http://www.roughlydrafted.com)
* [Eioba](http://www.eioba.com/)
* [Tech Reads](http://www.techreads.com)
* [Quick RSS](http://www.quickrss.net)
* [The Plugg](http://www.theplugg.com/)
* [Pink Prank](http://www.pinkprank.com/)
* [Mapelli](http://www.mapelli.info/)
* [Tribal War](http://www.tribalwar.com/)
* [Snow Pickles](http://www.swollenpickles.com/)
* [iWebTool](http://www.iwebtool.com/)
* [WordPress](http://wordpress.com)
If you see any inaccuracies in the list or know of any other sites, please feel free to leave a comment.
**Update: Check out [Naffziger’s Net](http://www.naffziger.net/blog/2007/02/19/the-secret-list-of-sites-banned-by-digg/) for more domains.

Neil Patel
Neil Patel is the co-founder of KISSmetrics, an analytics provider that helps companies make better business decisions. Neil also blogs about marketing and entrepreneurship at Quick Sprout.
Get the latest news from Search Engine Journal!
We value your privacy! See our policy here.
  • http://www.tech-blot.com Tanner Godarzi

    You have to wonder why Digg would allow these banned domains back. They don’t give a good reason why they were banned and ow they are allowed back. Very interesting.

  • http://www.pronetadvertising.com Neil Patel

    I updated the list.

  • http://www.emomsathome.com/blog/ Wendy Piersall :: eMom

    I’m having a hard time finding the logic as to why these blogs were banned in the first place – can you expand on this?

  • http://www.toprankblog.com Lee Odden

    Ha, I’m still not adding that digg widget back to our site posts. 🙂
    Thanks for the heads up Neil.

  • http://www.pronetadvertising.com Neil Patel

    Wendy, I am not sure why these blogs where banned. I think if too many users complain that a site is spam, Digg bans the domain.

  • http://lucafiligheddu.blogspot.com luca

    Thanks, I’ve realized it by reading your blog now. It’s funny that they haven’t sent any email advising about it.

  • Mr. BabyMan

    Some celebrity sites that had been previously banned like The Blemish and The Superficial, are now also unbanned.

  • http://www.pronetadvertising.com Neil Patel

    Thanks, updated list.

  • http://www.hmtk.com HMTKSteve

    Must be a database error. I’m sure they will fix this *problem* in short order 😉

  • http://www.tribalwar.com Damascus

    Has Tribalwar been unbanned? 🙁

  • http://www.emomsathome.com/blog/ Wendy Piersall :: eMom

    Thanks Neil – but that is an interesting point. I would hardly call most of these blogs “spam”.
    There was an interesting conversation on another blog in which one of the commenters spoke of a spammy post on Digg – but hadn’t bothered to read it. His point was that “he didn’t have to read it” and agreed that it “must have been spam” because simply based on what some Diggers said.
    This is dangerous ground (I know this is an old conversation at this point…). I consider spam to be blatant, untargeted and anonymous advertising. Crossing over the line and calling a post you don’t agree with or don’t like as “spam” reeks more of censorship and an abuse of power.
    I’m glad to see that Digg as a company was willing to revisit the banning of these sites. To take a few spam flags and ban a domain site unseen lacks judgement and ethics.
    Just my $.02. 🙂

  • http://www.pronetadvertising.com Neil Patel

    Wendy, I agree with you. Most if not all of these sites are not spam which is why I am pleased that Digg let them back in.
    As for Digg users claiming they are spam, it seems that a many of them jump to conclusions.

  • http://www.animepodcast.org Luis

    I truly wonder how the banning system works and why digg’s website states that they will never un-ban a website that has already been banned.

  • http://www.poopreport.com Dave from PoopReport

    I’m glad Digg is starting to recognize this issue. My site, which is dedicated to the “intellectual appreciation of poop humor,” is banned as spam — even though it is NOT a spam site. Sure, the humor is ribald, but does that qualify for a lifetime ban for my domain?
    I don’t know why my site was reported as spam to begin with. I tried contacting Digg, but was told politely that there was no point in whining. Now, maybe I’ll try whining again.

  • http://www.phplemon.com phplemon.com

    I noticed this earlier today, i’m glad the Digital Point forums are allowed back, i think they are a great website.
    — Phil

  • http://paulstamatiou.com Paul Stamatiou

    Great news. This time I’ll make sure to only submit my absolute best work so that they don’t all get buried and hinder my domain status.

  • PK

    How about RoughlyDrafted.com? Great informative, passionate site on Apple history and strategy.

  • http://www.topranrkesults.com Lee Odden

    Some wiseass with the handle “Hilton” submitted an unworthy post from our blog this am (along with about 10 others – at least 2 hit the home page) and of course the post from our blog was buried. I would prefer people not bother.

  • http://www.swollenpickles.com Swollen Pickles

    It seems they have allowed swollenpickles.com back in as well!

  • Ibzi

    Looks like the popular iwebtool.com has been unbanned aswell.

  • http://www.johnchow.com/unbanned-from-digg/ John Chow dot Com

    Unbanned From Digg

    I just got an email from Skitzzo at SEO Refugee that John Chow dot Com has been unbanned from Digg. At first I thought this maybe a joke so I tested it out by submitting the 10 Blogging Mistakes To Avoid post and sure enough, the submission made it.
    I…

  • http://paulstamatiou.com/2007/02/23/briefly-digg-firefox-million-dollar-avatar/ PaulStamatiou.com

    Briefly: Digg, Firefox, Million Dollar Avatar

    Lots of things going on today so I’ll just briefly cover them. First off, Digg has had a change of heart and unbanned many domains, including mine. Next time you feel that something is digg-worthy, fire away.
    Mozilla just rolled out a small upda…

  • http://www.mathpoints.com Andy

    Good catch baron, do we have any official words from Digg yet?

  • http://www.theplugg.com Charbarred

    I think it’s a smart move on their behalf. The banned domain list on digg has become so big that a lot of important sites were not covered by digg. Moreso a lot of bloggers would not submit their own sites (or friends’ sites) in fear that they will get banned as well. The result is that a) Many site owners turned to the competition (netscape, plime, stumbleupon) b)Digg was becoming an irrelevant news source.
    The question to ask is whether the banning rules remain the same. If so, digg’s huge “bury brigade” of 12 year olds who are not interested in anything that is not Apple or Wii related will soon get all these sites re-banned.

  • http://www.pronetadvertising.com Neil Patel

    Thanks guys, I updated the list.

  • http://www.depressionsblog.com/ Rene Kriest

    WordPress was banned? ROFL!
    Thanks for the list.

  • http://www.isulongseophil.com/ gio

    Do you know how long when digg unbann your site?

  • http://constructicle.blogspot.com constructicle boy

    well.i think that digg knows that all these sites are the top rated sites in the internet world and is quite stupid to ban them