Instagram is introducing a way for users to hide posts and stories in their feed without actually unfollowing other accounts.
This new feature, called “mute,” will not block content from other users entirely. Content from muted accounts can still be seen by visiting their pages, but it will no longer show up in the main feed.
Of course, this feature can be turned on and off at any time, and the muted accounts will never know they’ve been muted.
To mute a user, tap the three-dot menu button at the top of a post or profile page. Within the menu the mute option will be highlighted in red. There will also be options to mute posts, mute stories, or mute both posts and stories.
For those keeping score, the mute feature was first discovered last month by computer science student Jade Wong. This marks yet another feature uncovered by Wong before it was rolled out to the public.