Advertisement

Google’s Blogger to Close Legacy Accounts

  • 44
    SHARES
  • 954
    READS
Google’s Blogger to Close Legacy Accounts

We just reported that Google Videos would be halting all “sharing” operations for video content. In that article we discussed how this is just one of several features to be shut down in the aftermath of Larry Page’s management shuffle earlier this month. Beyond Hotpot’s fusion with Places, the rumored re-combination of the Android smartphone and tablet OS lines, and Videos itself, we now have another item to add to the list: Blogger’s legacy accounts.

The status of “legacy account” can be claimed by only a small cut of Blogger users. If you registered for your account in 2006 or later, after Google’s acquisition of Blogger, then you’re running on a current account. Additionally, if you’ve logged in even once since 2007, you were prompted to switch to the new account. In other words, if you are actually using blogger at all, it would be difficult for you to actually have a legacy account.

Still, those who created content before 2007 and have since left those blogs up to accumulate traffic and dust will need to log in or lose access to all the content they created. The closure of all legacy accounts will happen on June 25th of 2011, so Blogger veterans who have been inactive for a while should migrate their account and avoid an unintended closure.

[via Blogger Buzz]

 

CategorySEO
ADVERTISEMENT

Subscribe to SEJ

Get our daily newsletter from SEJ's Founder Loren Baker about the latest news in the industry!

Ebook

Rob D Young

Rob has been insatiably obsessed with Google, search engine technology, and the trends of the web-based world since he began ... [Read full bio]

ADVERTISEMENT
Advertisement
Read the Next Article
Read the Next