How To Connect Your Google Maps Listing To Your Google+ Page

SMS Text
How To Connect Your Google Maps Listing To Your Google+ Page

Google recently introduced the ability for those who have created a page in Google+ of a type other than Local business or place to integrate their Google+ Page with their Google Maps local listing.

Connecting the two together will carry over business hours, reviews, address, and more from Maps to the Google+ page. Please note that the changes are permanent, so be sure that doing this makes sense for your business.

Here’s how to connect them:

  • First, you have to create a separate local Google+ page–verified on Google Maps–for the same business as your page.
  • Log in to Google+, select Pages from the left-hand navigation ribbon, and click Manage this page on the local page.
  • From the top left corner, choose Dashboard > Settings.
  • Scroll to the “Profile” section. Next to “This page is connected to Google Maps”, click Connect a different page.
  • In the “Link a different page to this location” dialog, pick the page that you’d like to connect to Maps and click Next.
  • You’ll see a list describing the changes to the newly-created page you’re connecting to Maps, and the local Google+ page you’re disconnecting from Maps. Click Confirm.

The page that’s newly connected to Maps will:

  • Display the name and verification badge from the former local page.
  • Display the business information (hours, phone number, etc.) and reviews from the former local page.
  • No longer display prior owner responses to local reviews. Your existing reviews may take a few hours to show up after connecting the page.
  • Retain your page’s followers, posts, and managers.
  • Retain the custom URL (if you’ve set one up).
  • Possibly remove ad campaigns associated with the page. To start a new campaign, visithttp://www.adwords.google.com/express and follow the step-by-step instructions.

The former local page will:

  • No longer display on Google Maps
  • No longer display local business information or reviews
  • Be renamed to “Backup of <page name>”
  • Still be visible on Google+
  • Retain followers, posts, and managers from the former local page
  • Retain the custom URL from the former local page (if you’ve set one up)
  • No longer display AdWords Express campaigns associated with the page.

For more information, see Google’s help page.

Matt Southern
Matt Southern has been the lead news writer at Search Engine Journal since 2013. His passion for helping people in all aspects of online marketing... Read Full Bio
Matt Southern
Subscribe to SEJ!
Get our weekly newsletter from SEJ's Founder Loren Baker about the latest news in the industry!