1. SEJ
  2.  ⋅ 
  3. SEO

Are You Tired of the Domain?

Are you tired of typing into your browser “”? Would you like to enter something else, but still get the same results as if you went to … How about

Heather Paulson noticed something odd during a test of the SEM/SEO/AM research service Syntryx, which is currently in beta.

She stumbled across a site at the domain that shows weird stuff in the Who-Is records of domain name registrars. The other odd thing about the site is that it appears to be the search engine The main part of the Who-Is record also seems to confirm that this site belongs to Google.

The site is hosted on a server with a number of other sites that have questionable content, to say it carefully. This is of course very unlikely. Another thing that is odd, is the fact that the site does not show the universal search navigation bar, but the old links above the search box to select the type of search you want to do (Web, Images, etc.). It also does not show a “sign-in” link to logon to your Google account and it has a link beneath the search box to and the anchor text “Go to”.

You can do searches and browse around to most of the content of the website while actually being on the site. That this is confusing, even for search marketers is not surprising.

I think that there are only two possible explanations for this. The first and most likely one is that the site IS pulling the code from It looks like a simple DNS forwarder to Google’s data center 39-GV (IP The sites DNS Server is DNS1.NAME-SERVICES.COM.

If you ping the domain, it shows the real IP, which is and not he Google data center IP. “No reverse DNS set” for that IP is the response, if I try to do a reverse lookup via online tools like the ones from or by using the Windows tool “nslookup” on my local machine.

You can do a domain forwarding to any other domain (website) you want to, even if you don’t own the domain. There are common uses for this, most of the times for sub domains. Like this one. It is a sub domain of and even looks like my site. However, it is not my site and actually hosted and operated by somebody else. The “Branded Feed” option from (now Google’s) FeedBurner is another example of that.

It is not limited to sub domains and can be done with the top domain as well. A common use for that is the domain forwarding of other domains you own (e.g. your brand names and/or trademarks or TLD variations of the same domain name (e.g. .org, .net, .info)) for your business to your primary website domain (e.g.
The registrant of the domain is a person in Zimbabwe.

High Av Video co
cosomer lee (123user AT hiavgirl DOT net)
Fax: +263.123456777
West wood street 213# linken road
mogan, 432229

It does not seem to be a malicious attempt by that person to do something sneaky. He just does not use that domain yet and instead of having a parking service throwing up some stuff (e.g. ads) does he simply redirect to Google.

However, that Google (the site code) allows that the site is pulled via a different domain name that is not owned by Google is a big oversight by Google. Somebody with malicious intentions could use it for bad things. The Google site uses relative URLs, which keeps the user on the different domain.

I checked the logins, they redirect to, which is good, and because that prevents that, the login cookie is being created on that non-Google domain.

In addition, a link appears on the Homepage that reads. “Go to”, but that is not enough IMO. Google should (301) redirect any request to their sites if the domain is not the real Google domain or at least if it is not one of their domain properties.

This is not that easy, if the second explanation is true. This explanation of the site would not explain the weird information in the Who-Is record for that domain though.

It could be the case that the a script is running on that domain that takes all requests, then does a HTTP request to Google in the background on the server side and then returns the results as is or as an altered version to the end user in his browser.

I doubt that this is happening though. It redirects to Google from some of the links, I mentioned already the login links and other links that do not refer to secured sections of the site, such as the links on the Google products page, link to the actual Google domain. A scripter would have caught those and changed to local URLs on his domain.

If there is another plausable explaination that explains these things and a reason why Google would allow this to happen, I am curious to learn about it. What do you think?

Update 8/5/2007 11:00 pm PST: Important! Read the comments to this post below. It is getting even fuzzier.


Carsten Cumbrowski

Free Internet Marketing Resources Portal.

Category SEO
Carsten Cumbrowski

Carsten Cumbrowski has years of experience in Affiliate Marketing and knows both sides of the business as the Affiliate and ...

Are You Tired of the Domain?

Subscribe To Our Newsletter.

Conquer your day with daily search marketing news.